Me · podcasting · social · writing

PLOMH: October Update

Hello poetry enthusiasts! This month’s check in is gonna be a bit shorter than most other check ins. And that’s because I did almost nothing! I wrote two poems in October. Two. One of them was a poetic form I hadn’t tried before (trilinea) so that’s at least a bit of progress on two fronts!

I also submitted poetry to 2 places in October.

The truly beautiful thing about my October progress is despite it being the month where I did the least amount of work for this project, it was a month of significant progress on the rubric! I went from 74 to 76 poems written in October. I sent my 8th submission in October. I marked off my 10th poem edit in October (I’d actually edited it months ago, but had forgotten to tally it). I’m on the board for all but 2 criteria!

The main reason I did so little for the project in October is that I had a lot of social obligations in October. It was great, I regret nothing, and here’s hoping December follows suit!

But where words can not be written, words can still be thought. And I thought about this project a lot. Epiphanies were made.

First major epiphany? I gotta give up on the middle school poetry journals. I’ve been looking for them for MONTHS and I have less than 2 months to get myself recorded.

So I’ve been thinking that I’ll do a season 2 of Fairytale Tidbits, my micro fiction fairytale podcast on patreon. Good news is that the rubric says to RECORD myself, it doesn’t say I have to RELEASE said recordings all within the year. So I’ll probably find 3 weeks to write and record a bunch and release them weekly starting in December or January. That’s the plan for now. That and taking a crack at getting season 3 of Come On In, The Water’s Fine out before year’s end.

I’ve dreamt about that podcast at least once a week for the past two years.

Everything else, will just be more going with the flow, I think. No idea what November will look like. November’s NaNoWriMo so… we’ll see what it looks like.

But for now, October– I did almost nothing and still made significant progress on the rubric. That’s the power of upfront work!

I’ll see y’all at the November update!