poetry · writing

I had a locket

A locket covered in swirls and daisies
A locket of rose gold and silver
Delicate and thin like frost on a flower’s petal

When I open it, there are no pictures of loved ones
No keepsakes, mementos, or curiosities

It does not sing
Or hum
Or play any tune

When I open it, light dances before my eyes
When I open it, a ballet of light is presented before me
Filling an entire room

It does not go on forever
though I wish it would

It does not take me with it
though I wish it would

I want to go where the light sleeps
I wish to live inside the locket
and see what worlds exist when the locket closes

Leave a Reply

